MASS 101 PART 5: The Parts of the Mass

The Mass has two main parts:

1) Liturgy of the Word: proclamation of God’s word as it is in the Scriptures.

2) Liturgy of the Eucharist: celebration and remembrance of Christ’s Passion, death and Resurrection.


Order of Liturgy of the Word:

  1. Introductory rite
    1. Antiphon or song
    2. Sign of the Cross
    3. Greeting
  2. Penitential Rite:
    1. “I Confess” and/or “Lord, Have Mercy”
  3. Gloria!
  4. Opening Prayer
  5. First Reading
  6. Responsorial Psalm
  7. Second Reading
  8. Alleluia and Gospel Reading
  9. Homily
  10. Creed
  11. Prayers of petition


Order of Liturgy of the Eucharist:

  1. Preparation of the Altar and the Gifts
  2. Collection
  3. Presentation of Bread and Wine
  4. Prayer over the Gifts
  5. Preface
  6. “Holy, Holy, Holy”
  7. Eucharist Prayer
    1. The Lord’s Prayer
    2. “Lamb of God” and Breaking of Bread
    3. Communion
  8. Cleansing of Vessels
  9. Closing Prayer
  10. Blessing and Dismissal


A Few Facts:

  • In the early Church, only baptized Christians in good standing were permitted to stay for the Liturgy of the Eucharist portion of the Mass.
  • In 155 A.D., St. Justin Martyr wrote a letter to the pagan Emperor Antoninus Pius, detailing the Mass celebration. This is the earliest detailed account of the Mass, and was used by the Church in the Catechism of the Catholic Church to describe the Mass in today’s world. The world and society has changed, but the Mass has not!


Come back next Sunday for Mass 101 Part 6: The People!

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use